Dec 03, 2015

Big Ten Championship Preview: Top-Five Showdown In Indianapolis

Big Ten Conference Championship:

#4 Iowa (12-0, 8-0 Big Ten) vs #5 Michigan State (11-1, 7-1 Big Ten) at Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Iowa leads series 23-20-2 (Last meeting October 5, 2013: Michigan State 26, Iowa 14)

In the fifth year of the Big Ten Championship, the stakes have never been higher. Featuring a matchup of two top-5 teams, the winner is almost guaranteed a spot in the College Football Playoff semifinals.

Iowa, who finished last year 7-6, are one of just two undefeated teams in the country and is looking to win its 12th Big Ten Championship but the first outright championship since 1985. The Hawkeyes have kept fans on their toes this year with six of their 12 wins by single digits. Lead by quarterback C.J. Beathard and running back Jordan Canzeri who have accounted for 32 of the teams 49 total touchdowns.

The Spartans of Michigan State won the Big Ten East division with two miraculous finishes against rivals Michigan and Ohio State. A last-second Hail Mary by Nebraska gave the Spartans their only loss of the season. Since then they have won three straight including on the road at Ohio State.

Since the league adapted a conference championship game in 2011, the Spartans are tied with Wisconsin for most appearances with three.  


Keep up to date with all of the news from the Cheez-It Citrus Bowl including event information, presale opportunities and more.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.