Jan 15, 2019

15 former Citrus Bowl participants selected to 2019 NFL Pro Bowl

The NFL released its Pro Bowl rosters last month, with 15 former Citrus Bowl participants among the players selected to appear in the game, which will take place on Jan. 27 at 3 p.m. at Camping World Stadium.

The full list of Citrus Bowl alumni on this year’s AFC and NFC rosters can be found in chronological order below:

• QB Tom Brady (1999 — Michigan)
• DT Kyle Williams (2005 — LSU)
• C Maurkice Pouncey (2008 — Florida)
• C Mike Pouncey (2008 — Florida)
• DT Geno Atkins (2009 — Georgia)
• CB Patrick Peterson (2010 — LSU)
• WR Julio Jones (2011 — Alabama)
• LB C.J. Mosley (2011 — Alabama)
• CB Stephon Gilmore (2012 — South Carolina)
• DE Melvin Ingram (2012 — South Carolina)
• OLB Jadeveon Clowney (2012, 2014 — South Carolina)
• RB Todd Gurley (2013 — Georgia)
• RB Melvin Gordon (2014 — Wisconsin)
• SS Jamal Adams (2016 — LSU)
• OG Quenton Nelson (2018 — Notre Dame)

A 14-time Pro Bowler, a two-time NFL MVP and a five-time Super Bowl champion, Brady completed 14-of-27 passes for 209 yards and two touchdowns as Michigan scored 21 points in the final 5:49 of a 45-31 win over Arkansas in the 1999 Citrus Bowl.

South Carolina, meanwhile, boasts a trio of alumni on this year’s Pro Bowl rosters, with all three having made an appearance in the 2012 Capital One Bowl. The Gamecocks won the game 30-13 over Nebraska thanks to a Gilmore interception and a combined seven tackles and 3.5 sacks for Ingram and Clowney.

Quenton Nelson, who starred in Notre Dame’s 2018 Citrus Bowl victory over LSU, is the first Colts rookie offensive lineman to be named to the Pro Bowl since 1983 (Chris Hinton) and just the third to receive the honor in team history (Dick Szymanski, 1955). After being selected by the Colts with the No. 6 overall pick in last year’s NFL Draft, Nelson became an integral part of a much-improved Indianapolis offensive line that has allowed just 18 sacks on the year.

The 2018 Pro Bowl, a 24-23 AFC victory, drew a crowd of 51, 019 in its second year in Orlando. In addition to the current players on the field, this year’s game will also feature a first-class team of legends captains in Jim Kelly, Emmitt Smith, Brian Urlacher and Demarcus Ware. To buy your tickets to this year’s game, click here.


Keep up to date with all of the news from the Cheez-It Citrus Bowl including event information, presale opportunities and more.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.