May 23, 2019

2020 Citrus Bowl Set For New Year’s Day

Game dates and kickoff times for Orlando’s Citrus Bowl were announced this afternoon as part of ESPN’s 2019-20 college football bowl schedule.

Kentucky running back Benny Snell, Jr. received MVP honors and became the school’s all-time leading rusher in the 2019 Citrus Bowl. 

The Citrus Bowl will continue in its traditional New Year’s Day timeslot, kicking off at 1:00 p.m. ET on January 1, 2020. This season will be the 74th edition of the postseason mainstay, which has been televised on ABC for 30 of the past 32 years.

The game will continue to host the top Big Ten and SEC teams from outside the “New Year’s Six” series of bowls. In years where a Big Ten team is assigned to play in a non-semifinal Orange Bowl, the Citrus Bowl will host the top non-NY6 selection from the ACC against the top non-NY6 selection from the SEC.

In last year’s game, Kentucky defeated Penn State 27-24 as the Wildcats locked in the program’s first 10-win campaign since 1977.

Sideline and club tickets for both bowl games are now available as a part of Florida Citrus Sports membership ticket packages. General public sales will start later this fall. Join our mailing list to be among the first to learn about ticket information.


Keep up to date with all of the news from the Cheez-It Citrus Bowl including event information, presale opportunities and more.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.